ČSV

 

Jag får då och då frågor om ČSV-rörelsen, och hänvisningar till någonting jag skrev år 2000 dyker upp här och där… Det hela började med en B-uppsats som av någon anledning blev betraktad som en publikation (!).

Som B-student i samiska studier valde jag att skriva min korta uppsats om kulturella rörelser, med ČSV som exempel. Vid den tiden var mina kunskaper i svenska begränsade och mina kunskaper i samiska obefintliga. Även om uppsatsen blev godkänd (kanske t.o.m. med betyg VG om jag minns rätt) så är den bara vad den är: en B-uppsats. Anledningen till att den används idag som källa är bland annat att det inte funnits särskilt mycket publicerat om ČSV i Sverige.

Jag har senare skrivit kort om ČSV i en artikel (på engelska) om hur tradition (som begrepp och i praktiken) används i revitaliseringssträvan:

The emergence of national symbols, such as the flag and the national song, took place in the late 1980s, and the Sámi Parliament was inaugurated in Sweden in 1993. This followed the establishment of a Sámi Parliament in Norway in 1989 and preceded the one in Finland in 1996. Although active participation in politics began long before that, the 1970s are referred to as a turning point in Sámi organisational history. The ČSV movement, named after slogans such as Čájehehkot Sámi Vuoiŋŋa! (“Show the Sámi spirit!”) or Čohkkejehket Sámiid Vuitui (“Unite the Sámi for victory”) was a new awakening and “became a rallying call for the Sámi people who had a confrontational attitude toward Norwegian society” (Bjørklund 2000: 29). Many other Sámi initiatives followed the ČSV movement as signs of efforts to define Saminess based on the group’s own premises and self-representation. There was, for instance, a “renaissance in duodji (handicrafts)”; the gákti (Sámi costume) was ‘rediscovered’ and became “a way of expressing Sámi national unity”, and place names came to “constitute the clearest expression of Saminess” (ibid.: 31–32).

Cocq, Coppélie. Traditionalisation for Revitalisation: Tradition as a Concept and Practice in Contemporary Sámi Contexts. Folklore, vol 57. pp 79-100. 2014 (http://www.folklore.ee/folklore/vol57/cocq.pdf)

Referenser:
Bjørklund, Ivar. Sápmi: Becoming a nation: the emergence of a Sami national community. Tromsø University Museum. 2000.

 

Jag har länge funderat på att omarbeta min B-uppsats till en “riktig” publikation, men har tyvärr inte lyckats prioritera det. I dagens kontext där aktivism och revitalisering gärna lyfts fram, har intresset för ČSV-rörelsen återaktualiserats. Om jag lyckas ge ut en ny version av uppsatsen sådär 16 år senare återstår att se… men jag har inte gett up tanken.

Leave a Reply

